Sheriff Leis “I Support Streetcars in Cincinnati”

Posted on Updated on

From the Sheriff’s Op-Ed in today’s Enquirer:

Cincinnatians of all incomes, ages, races and situations will use the Cincinnati streetcar. I will certainly ride it from my office near the courthouse up to Findlay Market for lunch.

I loved Cincinnati’s old streetcars, taking them downtown from Clifton, riding the open-air cars that ran on Sundays up the Mount Adams incline to Eden Park and all around. But the new ones are much better in every way: Extremely quiet, roomier and the overhead wires are barely visible.

Cincinnati’s plan to build a streetcar once seemed like a dumb idea. Now that I’ve seen the effects these rail systems can have on cities like Cincinnati, I support the plan. If it were up to me, I would start building the Cincinnati streetcar tomorrow.

Read the rest here.

8 thoughts on “Sheriff Leis “I Support Streetcars in Cincinnati”

    Quimbob said:
    July 27, 2010 at 9:25 am

    As one of the claims of supporters is that the streetcar will put more eyeballs out there & thus reduce street crime – it would have been nice if Leis had addressed that one way or the other.

    cornercase said:
    July 27, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    I’m just happy and quite surprised that he made the endorsement. He didn’t have to and as a county official he’s likely going to catch a lot of flack from the suburbs. I mean, he couldn’t have given a much better endorsement when he said “If it were up to me, I would start building the Cincinnati streetcar tomorrow.”

    t-storm said:
    July 27, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    I believe that Leis was on Willie’s show a year or 2 ago comparing the streetcar to the t-rex chase scene in Jurassic Park. I’m glad he’s come around.

    McConnell was pro streetcar and they got rid of him.

    5chw4r7z said:
    July 28, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    People on twitter raised the question, why now? What difference does it make.
    I think it matters in the same way that the Enquirer keeps running anti-streetcar pieces.
    But I think the fact that the sherrif was so against it in the beggining and now supports it shows that public opinion is starting to turn.

    Joe M said:
    July 28, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    Quimbob, he actually did address that in the piece in the Enquirer (this is just an excerpt). He wrote:

    I disagree with those who say streetcar riders will be sitting ducks for crime. Our Metro buses go from Uptown to Downtown through Over-the-Rhine all the time without problems. Why should the streetcar be different?

    As long as the streetcar is heavily used throughout the day and night it will be safe. Because the route connects jobs, housing, schools and entertainment, this seems likely.

    t-storm said:
    July 28, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Of course someone in the comments on the enquirer brought up how unsafe the busses were, without any data to back it up of course.

    My Aunt and Uncle used to live in Blue Ash and they had an incredibly dim view of downtown Cincy.

    I was talking to my former best friend last night and he’s the type that thinks there is crime around every corner.

    Whenever I’m in town I hit the market and have walked the streetcar route. I am really looking forward to what this town will have to offer in 2013.
    Go Cincinnati.

    Quimbob said:
    July 28, 2010 at 7:59 pm

    I saw that Joe M. He was jut saying a streetcar would not be any worse than a bus which is something cincinnati.com commenters ARE saying.

    […] “Sheriff Leis: I Support Streetcars in Cincinnati” from CincyStreetcar Blog […]

Leave a Reply

